Ground Bass

Brass Band

Percussion (3 players):
Timpani (four drums)
Snare Drum, Triangle, Glockenspiel
Tam-tam, Suspended Cymbal, Cymbals

Availability: In stock


* Required Fields



Ground Bass is based on the ostinato from J.S. Bach's 'Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor (BWV 582)' originally written for Organ solo in the early 18th Century. It has been transcribed and reworked numerous times by a number of composers from different periods in time ever since its composition. This work utilises the ground bass in four different sections each exploring the colours that the brass band has to offer.

Ground Bass was commissioned for Lions Youth Brass to premiere at the 2011 National Youth Brass Band Championships.

Also available to purchase in print from

Brass Band Music Shop

(external webpage, opens in new window)

Additional Information

Composer Ian Raisbeck
Difficulty 4th Section +
Duration 2 minutes - 4 minutes